Zámek č.p. 1, 258 01 Vlašim
Phone: +420 317 842 927, +420 317 842 480
March - December Tue - Sun 9am - 12 noon and 1pm - 4pm
In 1988, Vlašim Chateau, originally a mediaeval castle first recorded in written sources in 1318, became the main seat of the district museum. After abolition of district authorities as administrative bodies it was renamed the "Museum of the Blaník Region” which occupies the northern and western wing of the Chateau. The exhibition devoted to the local history and geography presents archaeological finds and examples of fauna and flora of the Blaník region. Another exhibition - "Mirror of the Past” - represents a cross-section of the Museum’s rich collections. Visitors can also see the exhibition on hunting and sport shooting prepared in conjunction with Sellier & Bellot, a.s. Complementary to the last exhibition is a collection of preserved trophies of exotic animals.